Posted by: Daniel McCurdy | March 5, 2009

Work and Sunday

From the beginning of my journey in college I have quite often contemplated how I ought to work and the role of Sunday. I have found that I have a lot more work to do and a lot less time in which I can do that work. Last year I had trouble finding balance between work and friends. I believe that this year, specifically this semester I have been able to find a much better balance.

This balance has partially been achieved because I have changed my view of work. Previously I viewed work as something I was required to do towards some other mean. This is not a very fulfilling thought to me and does not lead me to good work. I began to find the words God uses in I Corinthians 10:31 to be haunting.

“Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” (NASB)

I knew that a lack of effort in my work was not glorifying God. Ephesians 2:10 talks of how God has prepared work for us…not that we come up with work for ourselves. This means that God is the origionator of our work. God’s glory in our work is not just the end of the work but also the beginning. How then can I complain about not being able to do what God has given me. If what I am doing is according to His will then it will be accomplished.

How I think of this being accomplished is very important. I could try to do the work on my own strength…but that never works out well. I cannot put my faith in my work. Dr. Victor Nakah said the other night, “Work really hard at what God has called you to do but don’t trust in your work, trust in God. Plan but do not trust in your planning, trust in God.” God is the one who is our strength in working towards His will.

If work is being done by God’s strength and done to God’s glory it is something more than just work, it becomes worship. Thinking of work as worship begins to put work into a very different light. I see that God is using my work now to prepare me for something later on in the future. I find comfort in the fact that even if my work is very difficult now and seems overwhelming I have God by my side and am doing His will, He will provide for my needs. I can spend most of the time in my week still worshiping God in stead of worship being something I do after work.

Worshiping as we work does not mean that we should go ahead and work on Sabbath. God has commanded that we take a Sabbath rest once a week.

Genesis 2:2-3, “And on the seventh day God ended His work which He had done, and He rested on the seventh day from all His work which He had done. Then God blessed the seventh day and sanctified it, because in it He rested from all His work which God had created and made.”

Exodus 20:8-11, ” “ Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is the Sabbath of the LORD your God. In it you shall do no work: you, nor your son, nor your daughter, nor your male servant, nor your female servant, nor your cattle, nor your stranger who is within your gates. For in six days the LORD made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day. Therefore the LORD blessed the Sabbath day and hallowed it.”

The Sabbath is not just a day to be lazy but a day in which we can especially focus on God. It is a time to gather with other believers in fellowship and worship. It is a time to put down our work and rest our mind, bodies and souls. This command also benefits us because it gives us a day to regain energy for the coming six days.

Many find that it is difficult to take a whole day off from their work. To that I ask; “What is your motivation in work?” and “What is your main priority?” I have asked these questions of myself and I admit that they are not always easy to answer.

If we are doing God’s work and doing it by His strength He would not have us break His command to take a Sabbath rest. It may seem like a sacrifice to stop working on the Sabbath but we should not worry about that. God gives us the strength to do His will both in work and obeying His commands. I very much want you to think about this and contemplate your motivations. I pray that the Sabbath will become a day in which you rest and grow closer to God!

-Daniel

Leave a Reply

Categories

