Posted by: Daniel McCurdy | March 9, 2009

The Prayers of Children

Luke 18:15-17

“People were also bringing babies to Jesus to have him touch them. When the disciples saw this, they rebuked them. But Jesus called the children to him and said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” (NIV)

Matthew 18:1-6

” At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”

He called a little child and had him stand among them. And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

“And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me. But if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.” (NIV)

Often on Sunday morning I help with the children’s Sunday School classes. This past Sunday happened to be one of those Sundays. There was a time when we had some of the children praying for each other and it was such a convicting time for me. The children do not have a doubt in the world that God can and will provide for their needs, it is not something they struggle with.

I take my role in helping teach the children very seriously…I think that is something that Jesus is saying here. Before I started to teach the children I made sure to keep this verse in mind and make sure that what I teach is in accordance with God’s word. I love to work with children because they can teach me so much about how to be a child. In some ways I remember what it is to be a child but I have allowed myself to think that I am more grown up than I really am. Of course in a physical sense I am not as much of a child but to God I am still a son. When these children look up to me I must remember to look up to God.

In the same way as the trust God I must also trust God. That is what God has required of us, He is our father and has gone to every extent to provide for our needs. Think of this like our parents here on earth. Most of our parents when we were younger would rather have gone hungry and given us the food were our needs that severe…our Father, God, did so much more than this. He sent is only Son, to die a horrendous death in which God turned away from Him so that we might be provided for.

I strive to be a child in how I look towards God, He cares for me and I certainly do love Him. I encourage you to spend time with children if you have forgotten what it is like to be a child, it might help your faith a lot. I pray that you do not allow yourself to think you are too grown up.

-Daniel

Responses

  1. Hey Dan,
    I just found you blog from your facebook link – great to see how God has been working so powerfully in your life. I can’t wait to see where he leads to go!


Leave a Reply

Categories

