Posted by: Daniel McCurdy | March 16, 2009

Sing Praise!

Luke 17:11-19

Now it happened as He went to Jerusalem that He passed through the midst of Samaria and Galilee.  Then as He entered a certain village, there met Him ten men who were lepers, who stood afar off.  And they lifted up their voices and said, “Jesus, Master, have mercy on us!” 
 So when He saw them, He said to them, “Go, show yourselves to the priests.” And so it was that as they went, they were cleansed. 
 And one of them, when he saw that he was healed, returned, and with a loud voice glorified God, and fell down on his face at His feet, giving Him thanks. And he was a Samaritan. 
 So Jesus answered and said, “Were there not ten cleansed? But where are the nine?  Were there not any found who returned to give glory to God except this foreigner?”  And He said to him, “Arise, go your way. Your faith has made you well.”

 

I always find this passage to be quite convicting. When I am need I very often (though certainly not always) go to God and ask for His aid. Once He has granted it I go on and start thinking I have it all together again. I do not take the time to thank Him for what I have done. Sometimes I do remember to thank Him. I wonder after I realize that I have not thanked God why I would ever think it ok not to thank God. I thank people all the time for every little thing they do for me and when God helps me out I don’t think to thank Him.

I ask for strength and He gives it, I ask for wisdom and He gives it. I truly am thankful that He does even when I am going to ignore that He gave it to me directly after He has given the what I asked for. We serve a loving God who helps us learn to serve Him. I am thankful for that, and I’m thanking God for that right now :).

The man in this passage is not just thankful, he does not just come back and thank Jesus. He came back in a loud voice glorifying God! I wonder how much outside of singing in church I am really willing to glorify God in a loud voice. I don’t mean standing and shouting God’s praise neccescarily but that could be part of it. I mean that I should proudly declare who Christ Jesus is in all conversation and not be afraid to bring Him up! Jesus is my life, why should I not share my life with others that I am around?

I have not had leprosy but I have had a sinful nature and Christ has taken the place of that. That is something to shout about! We must always be thankful about what Christ has done in us. He has made us new creatures, the old things have passed away! I aks that God will help me to sing His praise to others not only in song but in word and deed that they might see Jesus in me and hear about Jesus through me. I pray that this is the same for you.

-Daniel

Responses

  1. Dude Daniels Desk is awesome!:P I feel spiritually fulfilled just reading this!:P Dan you are awesome…and have way too much free time!:P haha but this is great though!!! Hope you are enjoying your break!!! and I’m the first one to comment!!!!:)

  2. P.S. nice desk too!:P


Leave a Reply

Categories

